6 Replies - 1905 Views - Last Post: 29 February 2012 - 06:03 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 zehawk  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: 23-February 12

Arrays: Java 1.6 v 1.7

Posted 28 February 2012 - 07:54 PM

Is it true that arrays in java 1.7 supposedly run faster than 1.6? Also, ive had some problems because since I downgraded my Eclipse compile version, my program has run much slower, and it is array heavy. I even tried reupgrading to 1.7, but to no prevail. Why is this?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Arrays: Java 1.6 v 1.7

#2 pbl  Icon User is offline

  • There is nothing you can't do with a JTable
  • member icon

Reputation: 8324
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,857
  • Joined: 06-March 08

Re: Arrays: Java 1.6 v 1.7

Posted 28 February 2012 - 08:18 PM

http://geeknizer.com...rk-1-5-1-6-1-7/

But you will need the hell of an array to see the differences
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 zehawk  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: 23-February 12

Re: Arrays: Java 1.6 v 1.7

Posted 28 February 2012 - 08:25 PM

An array of [5000][5000]? Oh, the array is of classes, not ints
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 pbl  Icon User is offline

  • There is nothing you can't do with a JTable
  • member icon

Reputation: 8324
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,857
  • Joined: 06-March 08

Re: Arrays: Java 1.6 v 1.7

Posted 28 February 2012 - 08:39 PM

View Postzehawk, on 28 February 2012 - 10:25 PM, said:

An array of [5000][5000]? Oh, the array is of classes, not ints

Same size :)
4 bytes for each 25,000,000 elements

I would rather look at the way my code handle them rather than looking at the JRE/JDK
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 zehawk  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: 23-February 12

Re: Arrays: Java 1.6 v 1.7

Posted 28 February 2012 - 09:00 PM

Normally, I would. But it seems like performance was great before I downgraded. I dint know why reupgrading doesnt seem to work...:(
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 pbl  Icon User is offline

  • There is nothing you can't do with a JTable
  • member icon

Reputation: 8324
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,857
  • Joined: 06-March 08

Re: Arrays: Java 1.6 v 1.7

Posted 28 February 2012 - 09:05 PM

You must have change something else :)
Or did you pass from 32 to 64 bits ?
I think you should re-visit your code might be a stupid glitch
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#7 zehawk  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: 23-February 12

Re: Arrays: Java 1.6 v 1.7

Posted 29 February 2012 - 06:03 AM

hey, that might be it! Not the glitch because I made NO changes to the code before performance went down, only changing version number... lol. But, now that i think about it, hey that may be my problem! Thanks for everything! well, i actually have one more question, how would I change my eclipse compile path so it goes to the 64 bit version? (I'm guessing the x84 is not the 64 bit version:p)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1