• (2 Pages)
  • +

18 Replies - 6087 Views - Last Post: 09 March 2012 - 05:02 PM

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Giving a talk to software engineering students

Posted 29 February 2012 - 03:41 AM

Hi there,

In a couple of weeks I have to give a short-ish talk to some Software engineering students, about things like: my job, what I do, my advice for students in a software development career & general employability advice.

I've never done anything like that before and was wondering anyone else has and could offer some tips on the kinds of things to talk about.

I was going to go over some of the key methodologies/techniques/tools, etc... which they will find useful in getting a job, e.g. things like:

- PDO
- MVC
- versioning (git)
- etc...

And just talk sort of generally about what I do. But I'm not sure what else students might find useful really.

Any ideas? What would you find useful if you were one of the students?

Cheers.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Giving a talk to software engineering students

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Giving a talk to software engineering students

Posted 29 February 2012 - 08:17 AM

I have been doing a lot of presentations for a lot of different age groups for my place of work.

I have learned one rule that I will always follow:
Do something to catch their attention (and keep them from falling asleep).

Otherwise you can be up there feeling that you had absolutely no impact on the students. If they don't talk about your presentation the next day, you probably should've done something differently.

In your case, if the students actually want to be in that class, they already know a lot of those subjects. If they are the kind of students that don't really want to be in the class, they will not pay attention to you if you just speaking plainly about the topic.

This post has been edited by SpartanGuy07: 29 February 2012 - 08:22 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog