10 Replies - 589 Views - Last Post: 29 February 2012 - 01:52 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 zehawk  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: 23-February 12

64-Bit and 32-bit problems

Posted 29 February 2012 - 01:16 PM

I'm having some trouble with my program. DO NOT TELL ME THIS IS DUE TO A GLITCH IN MY PROGRAM, CAUSE IT ISN'T! Ever since I downgraded my program to run on the java 1.6 JRE, i've been plagued with performance problems. I then figured out that I actually downgraded to the 32 bit 1.6 JRE, but have failed to either reupgrade to the 6h-bit 1.7, or the 64-bit 1.6. I've done this all using Eclipse, and even tried deleting the 32-bit JREs. Anyone know what's going on? Please help! PS, I tested my code before doing downgrading, and even after without making ANY modifications to the code. Thus, it has to do with the JRE version and processor type. Unless, you know what exaclty is going on, don't tell me I'm wrong.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: 64-Bit and 32-bit problems

#2 blackcompe  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1152
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,530
  • Joined: 05-May 05

Re: 64-Bit and 32-bit problems

Posted 29 February 2012 - 01:27 PM

What kind of performance problems? So what exactly do you need help with? Are you having trouble installing a 64-bit JRE?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9069
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,086
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: 64-Bit and 32-bit problems

Posted 29 February 2012 - 01:28 PM

Quote

Unless, you know what exaclty is going on, don't tell me I'm wrong.


M'kay... A pretty snippy statement in a group of other snippy statements. A great way to start. How about you explain this problem more to us. *HOW* is it not working? What OS is this running on? *HOW* are you running this program?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 zehawk  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: 23-February 12

Re: 64-Bit and 32-bit problems

Posted 29 February 2012 - 01:30 PM

No, I have all 64 bit JREs, and the performance is a slight, but really noticable delay in render speed of a game I'm making. I'm almost certain that this is because im using a 32 bit JRE instead of the regular 64bit. I run a windows 7. I need help with identifying my problem, again its not code related im 99% sure, and what I need done is fixing my Java so it reaches the right JRE, which right now doesnt seem to be true.

This post has been edited by zehawk: 29 February 2012 - 01:32 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 blackcompe  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1152
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,530
  • Joined: 05-May 05

Re: 64-Bit and 32-bit problems

Posted 29 February 2012 - 01:34 PM

Quote

I need help with identifying my problem, again its not code related im 99% sure, and fixing it so my Java reaches the right JRE, which right now doesnt seem to be true.


Still, I don't understand what exactly you're needing help with. It sounds like you want to get back to using a 64-bit JRE in Eclipse. Is this correct? Or you just want to know why your application performance degrades with a 32-bit JRE?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9069
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,086
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: 64-Bit and 32-bit problems

Posted 29 February 2012 - 01:34 PM

Have you checked the event logs for your machine? See if anything is cropping up? Did you narrow this down to a 64bit vs 32bit because you tested this app on a non-tainted machine?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 zehawk  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: 23-February 12

Re: 64-Bit and 32-bit problems

Posted 29 February 2012 - 01:39 PM

I want it to go back to the 64 bit JRE, and i was able to identify my problem by another forum i posted, and someone requested that my JRE's processor version got switched somehow. Also, I'm rather new to Java, so I'd like a step by step process on how to fix this.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 blackcompe  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1152
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,530
  • Joined: 05-May 05

Re: 64-Bit and 32-bit problems

Posted 29 February 2012 - 01:41 PM

See Setup JDK in Eclipse.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#9 zehawk  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: 23-February 12

Re: 64-Bit and 32-bit problems

Posted 29 February 2012 - 01:45 PM

Hey man, THATS the answer i was looking for! I'll test this out later(When i get home) and print out my results! I'm almost certain this will work though...

This post has been edited by zehawk: 29 February 2012 - 01:47 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 blackcompe  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1152
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,530
  • Joined: 05-May 05

Re: 64-Bit and 32-bit problems

Posted 29 February 2012 - 01:47 PM

Well, you sound quite enthusiast! Lol. I hope it does work for you. :^:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 zehawk  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: 23-February 12

Re: 64-Bit and 32-bit problems

Posted 29 February 2012 - 01:52 PM

I'm certain this is my problem. If not, then i guess I'll either create a new thread or continue this one, id hate to do that but i also hate having this problem... Thanks to everyone who tried to help though!:D
P.S, as ive said, this seems like thisll fix my problem. Anyone else can stil input some answers!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1