14 Replies - 1789 Views - Last Post: 01 March 2012 - 12:01 PM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

how to work remotely

Posted 29 February 2012 - 11:11 PM

How does one approach this situation? Is it common for people with comp sci degrees to do this? How do you approach your boss about it?

I always thought one of the benefits of working in this field is that I could work remotely, because im a musician who plays live a bit(though, im no partier, so that aspect is covered).
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: how to work remotely

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: how to work remotely

Posted 29 February 2012 - 11:19 PM

Make sure your work place is set up for it.. VPN connections, forwarding of phone calls your home/cellphone, etc... then it's an issue of justifying it to the company. Gas, quiet work place, etc... and demonstrating you are responsible enough to do that.

My job flat out told me to work from home at least once a week... I politely declined. Too many distractions, and I would rather not taint my home place and make it a 'work place' feel.. I go home to not be at work!

Lastly you must be dedicated enough to get your hours and work in and not slack off watching two episodes of Fresh Prince and four of Supernatural before the Syfy mini marathons kick in and no work's done.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 01 March 2012 - 07:08 AM

I am a full-time sr. C# programmer, who works from home. Like you I travel allot: I am full-time RV'er.

It's probably more common for students without job experience to be saying "Do you want to biggie size that for an extra 35 cents?" Employers can get experienced professionals today for what used to be the rookie intern pay rate; so they would be silly not to.