2 Replies - 512 Views - Last Post: 10 March 2012 - 10:25 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 apakhe  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 10-March 12

Question:How to make a "Settings Menu"?

Posted 10 March 2012 - 08:00 AM

Hello Everyone!

I want to build an application in VS 05, and I want to include a "Settings Menu" in it.
I want to know how to make it work, I mean if you check a checkbox to dissable/enable something from that application.
Can anyone help me with that? :)

Thanx in Advice!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Question:How to make a "Settings Menu"?

#2 m_wylie85  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 96
  • View blog
  • Posts: 899
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Re: Question:How to make a "Settings Menu"?

Posted 10 March 2012 - 10:22 AM

Well for checkboxes you could use the CheckBox.CheckedChanged Event. You will need to read about this to see how it works. then try to use it and if you have any problems come back and we will try to help you.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 RebeccaBlack  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 09-March 12

Re: Question:How to make a "Settings Menu"?

Posted 10 March 2012 - 10:25 AM

Well, for checkboxes, a boolean setting will work very nicely.

For example:

in your code publicly dim beepEverySecond as boolean = false;

At the start of the program:
If beepEverySecond is false then 
beepSettingCheckbox.checked = false 
else 
beepSettingCheckbox.checked = true


Check/Uncheck event handler:
If beepSettingCheckbox.checked = true then beepEverysecond = true
if beepsettingcheckbox.checked = false then beepEverysecond = false 


and then make a timer that ticks every second, and if the setting is true then beep, else do nothing

that's all pseudocode btw
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1