11 Replies - 2858 Views - Last Post: 31 March 2012 - 07:41 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Big Company vs. Small Company for Freshman Summer Internship?

Posted 12 March 2012 - 12:12 PM

I'm a freshman CS major who's in the middle of the interviewing season for summer internships, and I just got 3 offers (so far). I'm having trouble deciding between them, and I was wondering if someone could give me some advice about whether it would be better to start off at a relatively small tech company or a big company like JPMorgan? I already looked on glassdoor.com for some reviews, but there's little to nothing about the internship programs. If you'd like to see the specifics, they are below, but otherwise I just need some general advice.

Reddwerks (Austin, TX)

relatively young and fast-growing tech company

creates software for warehouse management systems, logistical stuff

casual atmosphere, people seem like they would be fun to work with

a new internship program, I would be one of their first interns. Potentially less organized, but they've gone to some pretty great lengths to recruit me so far (taking me to lunch on campus, 2 phone interviews, visiting the office soon), so it seems like I would get plenty of attention

substantial ramp-up time needed to work on the main products, so I would probably be limited to doing mobile app development in C# (which I have never worked in before, though I am comfortable in Java)

pay not specified yet, but likely to be close to JPMorgan

JPMorgan Chase (Dallas, TX) - Summer Technology Analyst Program

I'm from Dallas, so I would be able to stay at home instead of live on my own for 3 months; so that's a big plus considering I'm only a freshman

the name alone seems like it would be a good asset to have on a resume, but I'm not sure how much this would matter in a software engineering career path (comments?)

pay is great ($28/hr) and $1500 one-time housing stipend