9 Replies - 1876 Views - Last Post: 30 April 2001 - 12:11 PM

#1 FatalJay  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: 04-March 01

Anyone ever have a problem with Poser 4 and memory issues?

Posted 29 April 2001 - 10:44 PM

Lately, when I try to run Poser 4 it tells me I don't have enough memory availabe and need to close soon.  Then Windows generates an error and shuts the program down.  Does anyone know what is causing this or have the same problem?

Specs:
Win2k Pro
1.2 ghz Athlon
512 MB PC2100 DDR
76GB IBM Deskstar

Poser is on the partition with my apps, and none of them, some which I assume or more memory intensive than Poser.  None of the others have had problems.


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Anyone ever have a problem with Poser 4 and memory issues?

#2 LeprechauN  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 857
  • Joined: 12-March 01

Re: Anyone ever have a problem with Poser 4 and memory issues?

Posted 29 April 2001 - 10:50 PM

####...

*grabs FatalJay's computer and runs*

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 FatalJay  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: 04-March 01

Re: Anyone ever have a problem with Poser 4 and memory issues?

Posted 29 April 2001 - 10:52 PM

built it myself

the first time you build a computer, you'll never forget when you put the processor in, my hand was shakin so hard cuz I thought I was gonna mess it up

I was actually suprised it booted on the first try, :)

anyway, I stacked it for only 񘣌, you can save some major bank building it yourself

(Edited by FatalJay at 12:53 am on April 30, 2001)

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 LeprechauN  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 857
  • Joined: 12-March 01

Re: Anyone ever have a problem with Poser 4 and memory issues?

Posted 29 April 2001 - 11:06 PM

well i built my system here to.. i've been building computers since i was 12. hehe..

AMD 1GHz
512MB PC133 RAM
ACER 50x CDROM
Sony 8x4x32
Wicked Case
Radeon 64MB DDR
two Maxtor 20GB's
and soon to be EPoX motherboard.. ASUS A7V right now having nothing but problems.. look on page two under the caffeine lounge (KILL ASUS!!!) lol

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 FatalJay  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: 04-March 01

Re: Anyone ever have a problem with Poser 4 and memory issues?

Posted 30 April 2001 - 12:09 AM

Here's mine...

Specs:
1.2 ghz Athlon T-Bird w/ 266 mhz FSB
Asus A7M266
512 MB PC2100 DDR
64 MB DDR ATI Radeon
Lite-On 8x/8x/32x CD-RW
Toshiba 16x/48x DVD/CD-ROM
3.5 inch floppy (:))
ViewSonic E790B 19" monitor
IBM DeskStar 76GB 7200 rpm HDD
Altec Lansing ATP 5 5 piece surround sound
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz PCI sound card
Linksys Ethernet Adapter
Motorola Phanta 56k
Wacom Graphire Graphics Tablet
IBM Active keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer

All of it is in stealth black
I'm looking into some tight case mods if I get some time and some motivation :)

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 Guardian X  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: 02-March 01

Re: Anyone ever have a problem with Poser 4 and memory issues?

Posted 30 April 2001 - 10:04 AM

me i got a windows 2k pro / win 98
600 mhz
192 mb ram
30 gig
48x cd rom
8X burner

and i got no problems running it till i loaded DirectX 8  (which microsoft has said those two dont work well together)
so if you got 8 i would try to go down to 7....and i may need your help my win 2k kernal fell lol so i may need a hand fizin it all i need is the file Ntoskrl.eme (or .com i forgot :)  )

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 FatalJay  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: 04-March 01

Re: Anyone ever have a problem with Poser 4 and memory issues?

Posted 30 April 2001 - 10:11 AM

I'll help all I can...

And you know what?  All these problems did start close to the time I installed DirectX 8....

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 Guardian X  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: 02-March 01

Re: Anyone ever have a problem with Poser 4 and memory issues?

Posted 30 April 2001 - 10:34 AM

if you were on aim or aol we can talk there
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 LeprechauN  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 857
  • Joined: 12-March 01

Re: Anyone ever have a problem with Poser 4 and memory issues?

Posted 30 April 2001 - 10:43 AM

Specs:
1 ghz Athlon T-Bird w/ 266 mhz FSB
EPoX EP-EP8TKA3
512 MB PC133 RAM
64 MB DDR ATI Radeon
Sony 8x/4x/32x CD-RW Adn Also In Another Machine Yamaha 8x/8x/24x CD-RW
3.5 inch floppy (:P)
Hansol 701A 17" monitor
Maxtor 20GB 7200 rpm HDD x2
Altec Lansing ATP 5 5 piece surround sound
SoundBlaster Live! Value PCI sound card
3-Cam Ethernet Adapter
Wacom Graphire Graphics Tablet
Microsoft Internet Keyboard Pro
Logitech MouseMan Wheel Optical w/ 3-Com Precise Mousing Surface
Lexmark Z42 Printer
Logitech WingMan Formula Force GP FeedBack Steering Wheel w/ Pedals
Linksys BEFSR-41 Router w/ built in 4 port switch
For A Webcam i use a JVS Digital CyberCam (miniDV) on a tripod hooked up threw my Radeon
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 Paradox  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 432
  • Joined: 03-March 01

Re: Anyone ever have a problem with Poser 4 and memory issues?

Posted 30 April 2001 - 12:11 PM

It's in my footer somewhere
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1