Newbie question about events

• (2 Pages)
  • +

16 Replies - 1080 Views - Last Post: 27 March 2012 - 08:34 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Newbie question about events

Posted 15 March 2012 - 07:09 PM

Sorry for these simple questions. I added the following event handler to my file, but it doesn't fire. Is there someplace else it should be? The only events that work are the ones that were created by double clicking on the control in the designer. But there is no way to click on a node in the treeview during design time.

void treeView1_NodeMouseClick(object sender, TreeNodeMouseClickEventArgs e)
        {
            string msgString;
            msgString = e.Node.Text;
            MessageBox.Show(msgString, "Selected Node");
        }

I am new to Visual Studio 10 and really, really new to c#.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Newbie question about events

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Newbie question about events

Posted 15 March 2012 - 07:22 PM

Put this code after you make the TreeView:

treeView1.OnNodeMouseClick += new NodeMouseClickEventHandler(treeView1_NodeMouseClick);

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 15 March 2012 - 07:44 PM

Thanks MasterOfBinary. I tried this but it is generating errors. I tried it in the frmParent.Designer.cs where the rest of the toolstrips, imageLists, etc. Should I put it in the frmParent.cs in the constructor? I'll try that. But it would be great if you can lead me a little more!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 15 March 2012 - 07:51 PM

These tutorials should help.

Quick and easy custom events
Bulding an application - Part 1
Building an application - Part 2
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 15 March 2012 - 07:54 PM