11 Replies - 3136 Views - Last Post: 21 March 2012 - 02:25 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Copying files from a PenDrive

Posted 19 March 2012 - 08:16 AM

Hi, i have been searching Google for weeks now looking for help on a project, i'm not in school college etc, i am a network admin in a secondary school. Basically i was sick of teachers/pupils losing their pen drives and complaining to us that their work is missing, i set out to create a program to ease the backing up process to ensure this happened less often. i did manage to create a program using 'Get current directory' & 'Copy directory' and it works fine but not to the standard i want. Here is a clip of my current program, pretty neat for a beginner i think.I want the .EXE to sit on the pendrive and extract everything to a backup folder when it's run.
Because (h:/) or whatever the letter, is a DRIVE, copy directory method wont work. Hopefully someone can help me in the right direction in how to copy contents of a drive, please bare in mind i'm a beginner and only code in my spare time.

Thank you in advance.

Liam.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Copying files from a PenDrive

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Re: Copying files from a PenDrive

Posted 19 March 2012 - 07:00 PM

I don't know if I understand correctly...you have .exe application on your pen drive, you want to copy all files from pendrive when you run this application from pendrive?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 19 March 2012 - 09:38 PM

I Think This Is What You Are After. Just Copy And Paste To A Button And Your Set. You Can Change The Destination To Your Liking. This Will Send Everything To Your MyDocuments Folder And Will Create A New Directory Called "Back Up Files". This Code Will Overwrite Everthing If The Files Already Exist.

Dim Source As String = My.Computer.FileSystem.CurrentDirectory 'This Will Copy Every File\Directory From Where The Program Is Run