9 Replies - 738 Views - Last Post: 22 March 2012 - 12:47 PM

#1 happyyesh  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 10-October 10

Choosing an additional RAM

Posted 21 March 2012 - 12:50 PM

I'm running on a Windows7 operating system with Intel E7500. But it has only 1GB of RAM of 800MHz. Now due to heavy work I need some additional memory.
So which one should I go for, I'll get a 2GB if its ok with current 1GB otherwise a 1GB.
I'm confused if there is a problem using different capacity RAM in each slot, like in first slot I put a 1GB and in other I put 2GB.
So, can I go for a 2GB in 2nd slot?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Choosing an additional RAM

#2 Kilorn  Icon User is offline

  • XNArchitect
  • member icon



Reputation: 1356
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,528
  • Joined: 03-May 10

Re: Choosing an additional RAM

Posted 21 March 2012 - 01:01 PM

Mixing RAM isn't really going to be an issue, as long as you keep the speeds the same. You said the 1GB you have is 800MHz, so any additional RAM that you, not matter how many GB's it is, needs to be 800MHz.

If I were you, I'd get at least 4GB's total in that system as soon as possible. This can easily be done for around $50.

This post has been edited by Kilorn: 21 March 2012 - 01:01 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9223
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,630
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Choosing an additional RAM

Posted 21 March 2012 - 01:03 PM

Assuming the slot can take a 2gb chip you shouldn't have a problem. What motherboard or model number is on this pc?

Kudos for running W7 on 1gb of ram.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 happyyesh  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 10-October 10

Re: Choosing an additional RAM

Posted 22 March 2012 - 10:08 AM

@modi123: Here is a Speccy Report, http://speccy.pirifo...w8Zb5eht55gJUsO
U can refer the system specs from this.
And please help am confused between 800MHz and 200MHz
Memory Type: 2 GB 800 MHz DDR2 DIMM
Memory Clock: 200 MHz
(Source:Strontium DDR2 2 GB PC RAM )
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9223
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,630
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Choosing an additional RAM

Posted 22 March 2012 - 10:26 AM

DDR2-800 with 200 MHz Memory Clock Speed means your DDR2 RAM has a data rate of 800MT/s and a memory clock of 200mhz.

(MT/s being one million transfers per second)


Two slots with a max total of 4gb.. so sure.. pushing it to three gb shouldn't be a problem.

Quote

1. 2 x 1.8V DDR2 DIMM sockets supporting up to 4 GB of system memory
2. Dual channel memory architecture
3. Support for DDR2 1066(O.C.)/800/667 MHz memory modules

http://www.gigabyte....spx?pid=3485#sp
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#6 happyyesh  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 10-October 10

Re: Choosing an additional RAM

Posted 22 March 2012 - 11:38 AM

okay.. So the one I'm currently using is a 400MHz, and I can't go with that 200MHz Strontium if choose according their clock speeds, right?
But are they same in data rate?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9223
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,630
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Choosing an additional RAM

Posted 22 March 2012 - 11:41 AM

There shouldn't be a problem.. the system will just clock all the ram to the slowest speed.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 happyyesh  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 10-October 10

Re: Choosing an additional RAM

Posted 22 March 2012 - 12:36 PM

Yeah, I also thought so, just like processor's speed. eh
Now finally I've got 2 choices
1. G.Skill 2GB (1 x 2GB) DDR2 800MHz Desktop RAM (F2-6400CL5S-2GBNT)
2. Strontium (DDR2-800/PC2-6400) DDR2 2 GB PC RAM (SRP2G86U1-S6H)

and I think as a trusted brand G.Skill would be perfect choice, moreover its giving an adorable 10 year's warranty also.
What say? :innocent:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9223
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,630
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Choosing an additional RAM

Posted 22 March 2012 - 12:40 PM

Sure.. I haven't had an issue with g.skill..
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#10 happyyesh  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 10-October 10

Re: Choosing an additional RAM

Posted 22 March 2012 - 12:47 PM

Okay Sir,
Thanks for all your support.
See you soon.. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1