9 Replies - 2801 Views - Last Post: 10 June 2012 - 08:09 AM

• Knows all, except most.

• View blog

Getting into University/Importance of degree in computer science?

Posted 22 March 2012 - 07:18 AM

So I plan on getting into the programming field, whether it be software engineering, web development, or even making databases etc. I'm in my last year of senior schooling (Year 12). I achieve high grades in Math and IT, however, I do not do well in English, which affects my ability to get into university. I don't have any particular course in mind, but I'd still like to go. The courses related to Information Technology require around an OP of 10, and a pass in Math and English. I admit I have absolutely terrible time management so I have not achieved as well as I could have, so I should be able to improve my grades quite a bit if I pick up my act. I did do two summative (affects OP) assessments badly though, due to it being a group assignment (I find it very difficult to work in groups), almost failing both even when I'm a A-A+ standard. I am sitting on a B- minus now because of it. I'm not sure I can get that back to an A even if I do well on the next three.

Basically, I'm concerned about my chances of getting into University. I think due to the assignments that didn't go well, and my low grades in English (D+, though this doesn't contribute to this year), I may not get into University assuming I do pass English. So my question is...

If I don't make it into University to get a degree? What other options do I have for getting into University, or getting a degree, and how would it affect my chances of getting into the IT industry?

Thanks

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Getting into University/Importance of degree in computer science?

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Getting into University/Importance of degree in computer science?

Posted 22 March 2012 - 08:00 AM