8 Replies - 1995 Views - Last Post: 04 April 2012 - 07:56 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

getting into graduate school without formal background...

Posted 31 March 2012 - 09:45 PM

hey guys, first time i've really been on this forum and this is also my first post. i'm coming here because i can't seem to be able to find too many answers talking to some of my old teachers and peers.

i'm currently 25, and i finished my undergraduate degree studying finance. however, i've always had an interest in computer science from when i was a child, even taking a few courses offered at my high school. however, somewhere along the way i lost it all. it was probably around the dot-com bust and i guess i got swayed by a lot of people to steer away from that path. i was 13 at the time and susceptible to things like this, i guess.

it wasn't until i was a college intern working under a director that showed me some of his code that i really picked up an interest again. and this time it didn't shake. he started me off simply, showing me some code he was working on, how it worked, and everything came back to me. unfortunately, by this time i was finishing up college and i wasn't keen on setting myself back by switching majors. i split the difference and took a programming course during my final semester.

it's been 2-3 years now, and i've decided to go back to school for computer science once my consulting gig is up. unfortunately, as the title says, i have little in the way of a formal background outside of a couple of classes, whatever i taught myself, and some more sprinkled into my work experience. and i want to aim high into a good/great program. my question is, what do the chances look like for someone of my profile (no formal background, but with some experience and knowledge gleaned from work and self-study) getting into a good program, say, Stanford or NYU?