8 Replies - 971 Views - Last Post: 02 April 2012 - 08:09 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Java Interfaces

Posted 01 April 2012 - 01:10 AM

Hello guys. I have been studying Java Programming for the last 2 months using oracle's java tutorials. I have a decent understanding of Classes, Objects(class instantiations), Access modifiers, the hierarchical system in which Java arranges its parts and a bit of that basic stuff that you need to get familiar with before you delve into programming apps with the language

I was however unable to completely understand the application of Java Interfaces. I would have likde to paste-post an explanation of the topic by the tutorial am using but i think that would infringe on the copy rights of the author.

In a nutshell it explains an interface to be a contract between multiple programmers to adhere to an interface so as to allow their software products to interact.

An example would be a car manufacturing company publishing an interface which other companies or groups could use(implement?) to control the manufacturers car. These secondary parties would be such as a GPS technologies company which would like to produce a software product that collects data on traffic situations on roads that the 'driver' could use to get to his destination. The software would then be able to drive the car to the most favorable roads. The software would also be able to brake, accelerate the car when there was need to.(Its kind of a futuristic thing.)

The interface declares all the methods that can be invoked to control the vehicle. The code running under those methods is proprietary(and therefore secret) to the car manufacturer as is the code from the GPS company that invokes these same methods.

That is my understanding of interfaces. My questions then are;

1.) Who is implementing the interface, the Car manufacturer or the GPS company?