6 Replies - 400 Views - Last Post: 12 April 2012 - 08:48 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Hello from Scotland, UK

Posted 12 April 2012 - 02:47 PM

Hi there, my name is James Moore and I'm an Englishman living in Scotland.

I'm a computer science graduate in my thirties. Graduated from the University of Plymouth in 1998 with a 2:2. I was a bit lazy and smoked pot. Thats my excuse for the poor grade. :dozingoff:

I currently work for a local government in Scotland, as the officer of the Apps Support team. We look after their apps like the Council Tax app, Housing Benefits app, Geographical Information System app, Property Gazetteer app, Payroll app and lots of other apps mostly running on Windows and IBM AIX servers. Mostly bought from software companies along with a support contract. Off-the-shelf software they're referred to as. These arent simple apps, theyre usually frikkin complicated ones that come with a 500 page manual. Of course there are a few simple ones too (and frankly I could have made em myself and saved a lot of tax payer dosh) such as the "room booking" app. I mean comon, room booking? How easy. I suppose the Outlook integration would be the only tricky part.

The local gov orgs in the UK are required by law to make public any requirement for new services such as software and private companies can submit their "tender" (proposal). The org then makes a shortlist then picks one and they get all the tax payers money for their software and support service. Usually a project manager manages the whole thing. A typical software contract will be like 400 for each user license plus 5000 per year for support. But I digress.

I have found this website useful for quite some time now and would like to join in the discussions.

Ask me anything, especially about working for a local government org. I'll be happy to help.

I have programmed in many languages in the past but I'm focusing on PHP, C# and .NET right now at home. At work its usually Perl and PHP.