The Importance of Low-Level Languages?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

17 Replies - 2205 Views - Last Post: 02 May 2012 - 10:29 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

The Importance of Low-Level Languages?

Posted 17 April 2012 - 03:49 PM

Looking around the internet, I keep hearing the argument about the importance of learning low-level languages over the higher-level languages. I have been learning Java for about 6 months now and am considering taking a break and moving over to C, and maybe Assembly Language if I really get into it.

http://thread.gmane....643/focus=57918

The above is a post by Linus Torvalds (Linux Creator) that argues pretty adamantly against high-level programming languages.

I've heard that you should become very comfortable in C and move into topic such as OS APIs and Network Programming. This is all very foreign stuff to me as I am fairly new to programming. (Just finishing up AP Computer Science).

I've also heard that massive programs such as Bloomberg are written in both lower level and higher level languages. All the behind the scenes code is in C and Assembly Code, while the front door GUI stuff is in higher-level languages, so it sounds like learning lower-level languages is definitely applicable in the "real world."

Anyway, I have no idea what I am talking about so just wanted your thoughts.

Thanks

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: The Importance of Low-Level Languages?

• Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: The Importance of Low-Level Languages?

Posted 17 April 2012 - 04:50 PM

The lower the level the more direct control you have over the hardware. GUI doesn't need fine grained hardware control, making higher levels ideal and easy. Drivers, firmware, and other such software requires low level interface.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Posted 17 April 2012 - 10:02 PM