8 Replies - 1123 Views - Last Post: 26 April 2012 - 02:14 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

im not really sure how to work with databases in vb

Posted 21 April 2012 - 01:26 PM

I am fairly new to programming, and even more new to using database objects. I am creating a program that will calculate a user's BMI, and that will let the user know how many calories are in a food that they choose. I found a database that has a bunch of foods, and each of their calories, so I am using that. I have the program set up so that the user selects each food from a drop down list. The user then adds each of the food to a list box after pressing a button. The program is then suppose to calculate all of the calories after the user presses another button to come up with the total calories. I got all the foods on the drop down list no problem, but now, I'm stuck on figuring out how to get the program to add all the calories for each cooresponding food. I have no idea where to start with it. I know that I'm going to have to create a variable to hold the total calories, but I just don't know how to get the calories from each food. Any help? Thank you!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: im not really sure how to work with databases in vb

#2 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: im not really sure how to work with databases in vb

Posted 21 April 2012 - 02:25 PM

See FAQ # 22. (Click the SHOW button below)

TOP most asked:
What does this error message mean?
FAQ 2: How do I debug
FAQ 3: How do I make Class1/Form1 talk to Class2/Form2

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions - Updated Apr 2012
Spoiler

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 25 April 2012 - 11:13 AM