9 Replies - 1827 Views - Last Post: 17 February 2012 - 11:54 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Which Language for my Problem?

Posted 06 May 2007 - 07:53 AM

Howdy folks. I'm looking to learn a new language and would appreciate some help in selecting one :) I want to avoid any false-starts by putting down some 'musts' and 'must-nots' and mabye you guys could give me some languages to think about and mabye we can whittle them down to 1.

I have a lot of experience in php, and I used to be ok with C and Java. I dabbled a bit with the win32 API in visual basic also. Its been a long while since I've done any programming, and I think mabye its a good time to rethink my language of choice rather than just delve back in to one.

Anyway, here's my list of demands :D

Must:
...be flexible and reasonably powerful. (in terms of scope)
...be able to access the win32 API. I think I'll be doing a lot of work involving window hooking and API calls.
...be able to learn it relitively quickly (within reason)
...be able to spit out native windows excecutables

Must-Not:
...require stupid amounts of code to perform simple tasks.
...be a very high level language.
...run in a VM or sandbox.

Bonus points if the language uses c-style syntax.

-Hope you can help, guys :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Which Language for my Problem?

• g+ + -o drink whiskey.cpp
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Which Language for my Problem?

Posted 06 May 2007 - 08:12 AM

C++
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Married Life
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 06 May 2007 - 09:00 AM

Beyond those musts, what are you wanting to do?!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 06 May 2007 - 10:04 AM

Ruby seems like a good option, if you want a very high level language that allows you to start productive coding in a reasonably short time.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• g+ + -o drink whiskey.cpp
  • member icon