3 Replies - 3581 Views - Last Post: 26 April 2012 - 10:54 AM

#1 Nerfpl  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 43
  • View blog
  • Posts: 165
  • Joined: 15-January 12

NET apps try to connect to internet

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:41 AM

Hi

I know it's more Microsoft's question but seeking answer there will take ages.

I noticed my applications usually try to connect to internet at random without real reason. I have antivirus and firewall and firewall always pops whenever i debug since it's 'unknown' new application.

I don't use any network related code in my apps.

Any known reason why that happens?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: NET apps try to connect to internet

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8364
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,073
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: NET apps try to connect to internet

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:46 AM

Is the connection to the internet aside from these popups warnings by you antivirus, or are you just talking about the popups?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Nerfpl  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 43
  • View blog
  • Posts: 165
  • Joined: 15-January 12

Re: NET apps try to connect to internet

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:52 AM

I mean that any application i make is trying to connect to internet at random. Firewall simply notices that so i can see it happening.
In application itself nothing changes.

And i'm 99,9% sure it's not caused by any virus. I noticed this first about year ago and i thought maybe it's NET framework looking for updates or something. But recently it annoys me :)

Not to mention is really random. Sometimes 30 minutes of running and nothing happens and sometimes it tries to connect after few minutes/seconds.

This post has been edited by Nerfpl: 26 April 2012 - 10:52 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8364
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,073
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: NET apps try to connect to internet

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:54 AM

No.. it's not connecting it's just being noticed as a running application by your firewall. Mine did that for sometime until I just broke down and made a general rule for all visual studio apps I create.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1