11 Replies - 1549 Views - Last Post: 03 June 2012 - 10:26 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Academic CS?

Posted 10 May 2012 - 06:21 PM

I started programming in high school out of interest. I loved it immediately. It combines math and logic to create an almost artistic way to solve complex problems, and do some pretty leet shit also. I am now finishing my BS in CS and noticed something around half way through my junior year i was wondering if anyone else experienced. Academic CS is awful. Save for a few classes college managed to take something i love and make it dry, boring, and generally mind numbing. Without sites like gamasutra and DIC I think college may have killed my interest and love of programming. I was sitting here wondering if anyone else shares a similar experience.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Academic CS?

• g++ jameson.cpp -o beverage
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Academic CS?

Posted 10 May 2012 - 06:25 PM

The issue there is that pure CS has nothing to do with developing software. It's applied math, which is great and useful when used towards something.

I totally agree though, after hearing about a quasi-stable algorithm according to some approximating criteria...zzzzzzzzz. I like to take that information and do something with it, implement it.

*Moving to the student campus for actual discussion*
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Posted 11 May 2012 - 07:07 AM

I think many colleges are considering re-vamping CS to be more technology based and less applied mathematics. Traditionally schools have done this by creating a CS major and then a CIS major or (Computer Information Systems major) that some schools combine with business/ or strict tech classes.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 12 May 2012 - 06:04 AM