how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

  • (4 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

57 Replies - 5240 Views - Last Post: 17 May 2012 - 11:40 AM Rate Topic: -----

#31 rusoaica  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: 10-March 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 07:22 AM

you can add a code to check if the file exists first, and if it doesn't, write the file. Like this:

If File.Exists("c:\bedrijf.accdb")
  MsgBox("file exists")
Else
  'here you put the resource extracting code
End if



For the file you asked, here is the link, but be aware that it needs a restart: LCARS PERSONAL LOG

anyway, you do a good job, and i might be interested in developing such an application for myself, sometime... i am now busy with a speech recognition command and control project :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#32 digitaldevelopment  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 30-April 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 07:45 AM

both the sources as the exe's are now online @ my website don't mind the random JQuery slider, we had an assignment for webdesign to copy and paste one of the internet into a page we made. and I am to lazy to remove it just now. the links are at the bottom of the page
the application I am developing can't I give just yet but if you are statisfied with one of the earlier stages I could post one?

This post has been edited by digitaldevelopment: 16 May 2012 - 07:48 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#33 rusoaica  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: 10-March 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 07:47 AM

yes, but unfortunatly, i have VS 2008 and i cant view the projects :(
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#34 digitaldevelopment  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 30-April 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 07:55 AM

I am sorry, but isn't it possible to view the source files then? if not, try notepad++ (my altime favourite)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#35 rusoaica  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: 10-March 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 07:57 AM

oh, good ideea :D let me have a look
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#36 rusoaica  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: 10-March 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 08:04 AM

so, i didnt find in any of the source files the part used for copying files out of resources... am i missing something?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#37 digitaldevelopment  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 30-April 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 08:15 AM

no I sended the chat application to you, the copy out resources is located in another project, an administrative tool I am developing for a company, but in my contract it says I may not publish any part of it that could violate copyrights on it. (with other words not the newest versions). and I have tested your exe but it says it can't create the installer :/

This post has been edited by digitaldevelopment: 16 May 2012 - 08:17 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#38 rusoaica  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: 10-March 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 08:25 AM

hmm.. strange... what it actually does is that after extracting the files (winrar self extracting archive) to your temp folder, which is c:\users\your username\appdata\local\temp for win7, it adds an registry key that starts a program after you restart (this is because i use a custom font in my program, and your computer needs to be restarted for the font to be installed). So, if it says that it cannot create installer, it might be the administrator rights that is asking... so, you can do this: go to the temp folder (the one i mentioned above), right click on the file named "lcars.ttf" and choose "install". after that, in the same folder, right click on the file named "LCARS Personal Log Installer.exe" and choose "run as administrator".. that should do the trick..
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#39 digitaldevelopment  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 30-April 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 08:31 AM

I tried, I am administrator on the computer I am using and all but it just won't do it :(
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#40 rusoaica  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: 10-March 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 08:33 AM

but it extracts the files in the temp folder? or the self extracting archive is generating the error?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#41 digitaldevelopment  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 30-April 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 08:51 AM

the self extracting archive is
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#42 rusoaica  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: 10-March 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 09:23 AM

than, use this project to build the executable, and run it from the Bin - Debug folder. Be aware that you'll have to copy the files busy.ani, button.cur and general.cur from the Resource folder to the one where the program is, or the program will give an error.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#43 digitaldevelopment  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 30-April 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 09:42 AM

:D now it works altough I don't really get the program's goal
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#44 rusoaica  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: 10-March 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 09:47 AM

it is a program for a personal log, like the Captain's Log from Star Trek... it can be used as a diary, to store text, audio or video logs you made... but it still has some problems, i still need to polish it :D it also uses the LCARS style of user interface, used in the Star Trek series...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#45 digitaldevelopment  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 30-April 12

Re: how do you copy/move a file (image,accdb,...) out of resources?

Posted 16 May 2012 - 10:07 AM

ooooh, I think I am getting the hang of this :D would you mind if I posted it on my facebook? I know some people who might be intrested
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (4 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4