10 Replies - 7683 Views - Last Post: 14 May 2012 - 07:12 PM

#1 Tsukuyomi  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 93
  • Joined: 22-February 11

Wordpress will not install because php is not running

Posted 13 May 2012 - 11:20 AM

I got this error: Error: PHP is not running

WordPress requires that your web server is running PHP. Your server does not have PHP installed, or PHP is turned off.


I have xampp installed and everything is running because I created a php file and it was working. I even tried the phpinfo() to check. I don't if I'm doing this right but I download wordpress and extract the files and opened install.php on firefox. Is that the way to do? If not how?

Posted Image

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Wordpress will not install because php is not running

#2 Martyr2  Icon User is offline

  • Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

Reputation: 4300
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,064
  • Joined: 18-April 07

Re: Wordpress will not install because php is not running

Posted 13 May 2012 - 11:29 AM

Did you create a database table for wordpress and alter the config file as per the wordpress instructions?

Where are you installing this? Locally or do you have a web host?

:)
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 Tsukuyomi  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 93
  • Joined: 22-February 11

Re: Wordpress will not install because php is not running

Posted 13 May 2012 - 11:47 AM

View PostMartyr2, on 13 May 2012 - 11:29 AM, said:

Did you create a database table for wordpress and alter the config file as per the wordpress instructions?

Where are you installing this? Locally or do you have a web host?

:)

I did not do that. I know how to create a table on the database but do I just create a table? I did not figure any files; I just extracted everything and opened the install.php file. I'm doing at localhost on my pc but I have a free webhost at x10hosting.com which have wordpress.

can you walk me through this or a link to a video or tutorial?

This post has been edited by Tsukuyomi: 13 May 2012 - 11:49 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 floppyspace  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 48
  • View blog
  • Posts: 254
  • Joined: 04-February 10

Re: Wordpress will not install because php is not running

Posted 14 May 2012 - 12:42 AM

Read this, it should help explain what to do.

This post has been edited by floppyspace: 14 May 2012 - 12:45 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Dic Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 5159
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,766
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Wordpress will not install because php is not running

Posted 14 May 2012 - 12:48 AM

** Topic moved to Webservers & Hosting **
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#6 Tsukuyomi  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 93
  • Joined: 22-February 11

Re: Wordpress will not install because php is not running

Posted 14 May 2012 - 06:03 PM

View Postfloppyspace, on 14 May 2012 - 12:42 AM, said:

Read this, it should help explain what to do.

Thank you. Now I know I can view my site in http://localhost/wordpress but what if I want other people to see my site. How can i do that? I signed up at wordpress and did some editing but the editing is not showing up in my site.

This post has been edited by Tsukuyomi: 14 May 2012 - 06:34 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Dic Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 5159
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,766
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Wordpress will not install because php is not running

Posted 14 May 2012 - 06:04 PM

You need to forward port 80 requests from your router.

Assuming your ISP doesn't block port 80 traffic.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#8 Tsukuyomi  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 93
  • Joined: 22-February 11

Re: Wordpress will not install because php is not running

Posted 14 May 2012 - 06:52 PM

View Postno2pencil, on 14 May 2012 - 06:04 PM, said:

You need to forward port 80 requests from your router.

Assuming your ISP doesn't block port 80 traffic.

How do I do that?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Dic Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 5159
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,766
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Wordpress will not install because php is not running

Posted 14 May 2012 - 06:56 PM

Every router is different, so you'll need to consult your documentation that came with your router, but for the most part :

Log onto your router.
Go to "ports".
Select port 80.
Input the ip address of your machine running wordpress.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 Tsukuyomi  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 93
  • Joined: 22-February 11

Re: Wordpress will not install because php is not running

Posted 14 May 2012 - 07:12 PM

View Postno2pencil, on 14 May 2012 - 06:56 PM, said:

Every router is different, so you'll need to consult your documentation that came with your router, but for the most part :

Log onto your router.
Go to "ports".
Select port 80.
Input the ip address of your machine running wordpress.

How do I log in to my router? And also on my wordpress I edited the url to a link instead of the localhost/wordpress how do I change it back? and do you know how i can change my heading?

This post has been edited by Tsukuyomi: 14 May 2012 - 07:30 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Dic Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 5159
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,766
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Wordpress will not install because php is not running

Posted 14 May 2012 - 07:12 PM

View PostTsukuyomi, on 14 May 2012 - 10:12 PM, said:

View Postno2pencil, on 14 May 2012 - 06:56 PM, said:

Every router is different, so you'll need to consult your documentation that came with your router, but for the most part :

Log onto your router.
Go to "ports".
Select port 80.
Input the ip address of your machine running wordpress.

How do I log in to my router?


Please see above.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1