5 Replies - 8342 Views - Last Post: 06 June 2012 - 09:06 AM

#1 jase81  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 7
  • View blog
  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: 02-March 09

Problem: How to replicate the "Maps" application search style

Posted 14 May 2012 - 08:08 PM

Posted Image

Hopefully you can see the image above. Basically in the Maps application there is a 'search' button on the application bar and when you click in, instead of being taken to a different xaml page, a popup (or page?) eases over the map and displays the onscreen keyboard and a text box. The popup page has a transparency so you can still see the map underneath.

I've had a good look around and it seems that this isn't a standard component? If anyone has built something like this or has seen an example of how to do it, please let me know.

Thanks

Link to maps page http://www.microsoft...nd-a-place.aspx

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Problem: How to replicate the "Maps" application search style

#2 eclipsed4utoo  Icon User is offline

  • Not Your Ordinary Programmer
  • member icon

Reputation: 1524
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,960
  • Joined: 21-March 08

Re: Problem: How to replicate the "Maps" application search style

Posted 21 May 2012 - 06:07 AM

Truthfully, it may just be a panel(with a textbox) on the page that slides down when the application bar button is hit.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 jase81  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 7
  • View blog
  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: 02-March 09

Re: Problem: How to replicate the "Maps" application search style

Posted 21 May 2012 - 07:24 PM

View Posteclipsed4utoo, on 21 May 2012 - 07:07 AM, said:

Truthfully, it may just be a panel(with a textbox) on the page that slides down when the application bar button is hit.


Yeah I figured that might be the case, so that's what I did.
In the button click event I create a grid, add a stackpanel and a bunch of controls. Then using a slide transition I slide the "transparent page" over the top of the map.

Simple as that.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 eclipsed4utoo  Icon User is offline

  • Not Your Ordinary Programmer
  • member icon

Reputation: 1524
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,960
  • Joined: 21-March 08

Re: Problem: How to replicate the "Maps" application search style

Posted 22 May 2012 - 05:04 AM

Are you creating those controls dynamically? If so, you don't even need to do that. Using Blend(which you should be using anyway since it comes free with the WP7 dev kit), you can simply create the Grid/StackPanel, add the controls to it, then just move it off of the screen. It would sit off of the screen to the top, and when a button is clicked, you would run an animation that slides it into view from the top.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 jase81  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 7
  • View blog
  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: 02-March 09

Re: Problem: How to replicate the "Maps" application search style

Posted 04 June 2012 - 07:37 PM

Currently I'm doing this dynamically. I have no experience with Blend. Maybe something to look at when I get some free time.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 eclipsed4utoo  Icon User is offline

  • Not Your Ordinary Programmer
  • member icon

Reputation: 1524
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,960
  • Joined: 21-March 08

Re: Problem: How to replicate the "Maps" application search style

Posted 06 June 2012 - 09:06 AM

Learn Blend. You should use Blend when designing the UI and doing animations.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1