13 Replies - 2643 Views - Last Post: 18 May 2012 - 08:02 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

P2P Messaging and File Transfer System

Posted 17 May 2012 - 12:41 PM

HI There,

I am totally new to software development and I have been given the chance of a lifetime! I have been given a job as Junior developer but now I need to lear c# and fast!

I have several books Wrox beginning c# and professional c# which i have been reading for the last couple of week but it doesn't seem to be sinking in!

I have now been given a project and two week to complete it... problem is through all the panic I have no idea where to start.. any pointers you guys can give would be greatly appreciated!

The project is to create a peer -server - peer messaging and file transfer system. I have to create a database and connect to this using ADO, the GUI needs to display the users that are currently connected... if you click on a connected user any conversations or messages they have posted are displayed along with when they were posted.

PLEASE help

Thanks
TOny

This post has been edited by macosxnerd101: 17 May 2012 - 12:45 PM
Reason for edit:: Please use a descriptive title

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: P2P Messaging and File Transfer System

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: P2P Messaging and File Transfer System

Posted 17 May 2012 - 12:46 PM

Okay let's take a step back. How much comp sci background do you have? Have you ever wrote a program, or is this career something that just popped up?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 17 May 2012 - 12:47 PM

We have a C# Learning Series and Tutorials Section you are welcome to take advantage of. SixOfEleven has a P2P Chat Tutorial.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 17 May 2012 - 12:50 PM