6 Replies - 2387 Views - Last Post: 21 May 2012 - 12:49 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Designing a Software Application

Posted 21 May 2012 - 11:49 AM

OK, not sure if this is the correct posting place, sorry. I'm looking for advice on how to Design and build a software application for my workshop. We are currently using a system that is really poor, and given that i'm half way through a degree in IT with very basic programming knowledge (mainly in VBA and HTML), i would like to build one myself for experience. However, given that this is my first time, ive no idea where to start.

I want to approach this from a project management view (i.e. following the steps a typical project manager would use in the design of the system) then try and program/build the whole thing myself.

The system would be used to virtually track items of equipment using asset tags through a workshop, then keep track of them on the database, so we can keep tabs on where they are etc. Also i would like there to be stock management included to show when certain stock is low and I would like a GUI to control this in the easiest way possible, due to the staff being not overly IT literate.

I have got hold of microsoft Visual studio 2010, but have no clue what to do next? should i use access or SQL for the databases? how would i go about designing my GUI?

I realise this is a very non specific post, and as such i would like someone to point me in the appropriate direction so i can find some good answers.

Thanks for any help

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Designing a Software Application

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Designing a Software Application

Posted 21 May 2012 - 12:03 PM