7 Replies - 3972 Views - Last Post: 22 May 2012 - 03:11 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Topics to Explore

Posted 21 May 2012 - 10:14 PM

I'm a programming student that's still learning the basics; However, I'm looking for some guidance on where to focus my attention. As an entry level programmer in a company, what are some concepts that an individual should have a strong grasp on? What are some other things that are an added bonus? I'd also like to add that I'm pursuing a career in game development and currently using C++ with Direct X. This is the perfect place to ask because there's individuals here that have been where I am or currently have their own companies and know what they like to look for in a potential employee. Having that insight is invaluable to me. I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Topics to Explore

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Topics to Explore

Posted 21 May 2012 - 10:59 PM

Have you checked out our 'q and a with the experts' threads?

http://www.dreaminco...th-the-experts/
http://www.dreaminco...826-qa-answers/
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 22 May 2012 - 06:08 AM

View PostWebbie05, on 21 May 2012 - 11:14 PM, said:

As an entry level programmer in a company, what are some concepts that an individual should have a strong grasp on?

The ones that pertain to your product line. The ones that the senior people in your company need to know so you can make more money.

It really doesn't make a lot of sense to learn ASP if your product line doesn't use it - Unless you are looking to change employers.

Look at what the tier above you is working on. What skills is your employer hiring for, paying more for, having trouble finding, have niches to fill?
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog