Gfx card overheating

• (2 Pages)
  • +

18 Replies - 4256 Views - Last Post: 22 May 2012 - 06:05 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Gfx card overheating

Posted 22 May 2012 - 10:40 AM

Ive just bought a Asus NVIDIA GeForce 9800GX2 1024MB GDDR3 512-bit Graphics Card
Specification

Chipset Line
nVidia GeForce
Chipset Model
NVIDIA GeForce 9800GX2
Core Clock Speed
600 MHz
Slot Type
PCI Express 2.0
Cooling Type
Fansink

Memory
Installed Memory
1 GB
Memory Type
GDDR3
Memory Bus
512-bit

I have noticed My gfx card runs at 71c with the fan speed on auto on ideal when i get into a game ( skyrim ) i play everything on high ive been playing for 2 weeks now on high and my max temp under load is 90 c But now today i started playing skyrim and half a hour in the game started to go slow i looked at my gfx card temp and it was 100c. Just wondering if that is high ?? Im guessing ill have to go and buy some new paste for the card ? Seen has its 4 years old i think.

I have ran msi kombustor but are having problems i run a stress test on the gfx card but only runs it on the one gpu but has many of you may know the card is 2 gfx cards put into 1. It says gpu 2 max temp is 90c on full load ( in the test ) and frame rate is 39 for the 1 gpu. For some resson it will not test gpu 1. I wanted to ask has well if i bought another 2 of these cards and used them in a 3 sli then would i get much of a improvement on the gfx ?? At the moment i can play everything on high dirt 3 / skyrim and other games the only thing i can't play on high is battlefield 3 so was thinking of getting 2 more and using them has a 3 way sli but would i get a boost from 3 ?? Also im gusseing the over heating if from old heat paste ?? It runs at 75c ide ( today ) and 90 on full load but today it reached 100 in a game but in a stress test reached 91c on full load.

Also the 90c on full load is with the fan speed at 100%

This post has been edited by rpgmaker: 22 May 2012 - 10:46 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +