10 Replies - 4734 Views - Last Post: 31 May 2012 - 09:36 PM

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

What (in your opinion) is the most efficient way to learn c#?

Posted 23 May 2012 - 06:49 PM

Hello all.

I am a Java Programmer but I want to switch over to C# to try out the new Unity3d game engine. But Instead of poking at buttons and trying to script in a language that I'm not extremely familiar with, (c#), I wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions on an efficient way to learn C# with a decent learning curve. Ive programmed in other languages and I have a solid grasp of Methods and Functions, but the commands themselves are not incredibly easy to memorize unless I take random tutorials that basically do the code for me (which doesn't make me "think" about the solution so it makes it easy to miss a few things. I want to understand this language to the greatest extend possible so I thought id ask you guys here at Dream.In.Code to see what you suggest.

Thanks in advance!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What (in your opinion) is the most efficient way to learn c#?

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What (in your opinion) is the most efficient way to learn c#?

Posted 23 May 2012 - 07:42 PM

java and C# syntax are so very similar you will feel very comfortable.

I have a solid grasp of Methods and Functions, but the commands themselves are not incredibly easy to memorize

Well - not really. You won't have a grasp on the actual methods because the biggest shift will be getting used to having the entire .NET framework at your disposal. That's a good half million methods or more. So you aren't going to memorize them. The best you can do is get comfortable with the feel of the namespaces and let them lead you to the exact method you want. It does become natural after a while. For example, if you want to get a list of the file names in a given folder..