2 Replies - 8160 Views - Last Post: 30 May 2012 - 10:08 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

I'm looking to build an interactive online database... best langua

Posted 29 May 2012 - 09:21 PM

Hey all, I'm just getting started in online website design. I'm looking for basically some advice in what languages I should learn how to use? I am familiar on how to build a database (in MS Access), but I'm not certain if it differs online. I've looked into forums about using Dreamweaver but I'm looking for a low cost program to get me started. I'm also looking to make the site interactive and allow for online data collection. Should I build my database in MS Access first or should I got with an entirely different product? I know it's a lot to ask, but I would really appreciate the help!

Also, just a note, I'm looking to make the site look "pretty". I am not going for the oh-so-famous dead site look. I want it to be at least graphically interesting. Is there any way to do that in a particular programming language? Thanks again everyone!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: I'm looking to build an interactive online database... best langua

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: I'm looking to build an interactive online database... best langua

Posted 29 May 2012 - 10:13 PM

Hey.

I'm looking for basically some advice in what languages I should learn how to use?

As far as client-side languages go, all websites are built in HTML, CSS and sometimes Javascript. There aren't really any other choices.

For server-side languages, your main choices as PHP, ASP.NET and JSP. Of those, PHP is perhaps the simplest to get started with. It's also free and platform-independent. If you're a Microsoft kind of developer, then ASP.NET is maybe a better choice. JSP is the Java web development side, which is aimed more at large, enterprise websites than anything else.

For me, I'd recommend starting with PHP on the server-side.