1 Replies - 947 Views - Last Post: 25 June 2012 - 06:32 AM

#1 Duckington  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict

Reputation: 164
  • View blog
  • Posts: 599
  • Joined: 12-October 09

Error in plesk cp - hostname?

Posted 30 May 2012 - 08:04 AM

Hi,

I'm currently having issues with the Plesk control panel I use, and also with FTP.

I'm getting errors like this a lot on Plesk pages:

ERROR: PleskUtilException 
 Unable to execute serverconf: terminate called after throwing an instance of 'plesk::Exc<&(plesk::ExecCmd::Failed(bool))>'
 what(): Execution of hostname -f failed with return code 1.
 Stderr is
 hostname: Unknown host

 0: Configuration.php:23
 Service_Node_Configuration->_syncProperties()
 1: :
 call_user_func_array(array, array)
 2: Properties.php:142
 Service_Node_Properties->sync()
 3: Properties.php:31
 Service_Node_Properties->__construct(object of type Db_Table_Row_ServiceNode)
 4: ServiceNode.php:187
 Db_Table_Row_ServiceNode->configuration()
 5: Webspace.php:190
 Webspace->getSystemPath()
 6: Webspace.php:208
 Webspace->isPathInsideSystemArea(string '/var/www/vhosts/localhost.localdomain')
 7: Webspace.php:323
 Webspace->isExternalWebspaceRoot()
 8: class.FtpUsersList.php:70
 FtpUsersList->fetchFtpUsersList()
 9: cList.php:85
 cList->fetchList()
 10: cList.php:104
 cList->init()
 11: client.domain.hosting.ftp-users.php:44
 plesk__client__domain__hosting__ftp_users->accessItem(string 'GET', NULL null)
 12: UIPointer.php:595
 UIPointer->access(string 'GET')
 13: plesk.php:45




I've been onto the Plesk support forum, but the most I could really get out of their support rep was:

Quote

Do you really have server hostname in FQDN format? Did you check it?



Which may make sense to some people, but I only know very basic Linux..

I assume there is some sort of problem with this "hostname" though, as my FTP access suddenly stopped working as well.

Would anyone be able to put into plain ENglish that I'm going to understand, roughly what this problem might be? Or what he's talking about with a hostname in FQDN format...?


I can post a screenshot of all the bits and bobs I have on the DNS page if that is of help...?


Thanks.

This post has been edited by Duckington: 30 May 2012 - 08:05 AM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Error in plesk cp - hostname?

#2 denting5  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 5
  • View blog
  • Posts: 84
  • Joined: 03-June 12

Re: Error in plesk cp - hostname?

Posted 25 June 2012 - 06:32 AM

FQDN (Fully Qualified Domain Name) is a system by which each piece of hardware is exactly pinpointed within the DNS structure. If you had a device with the local name food and the parent domain menu.com, the FQDN would be food.menu.com.
The problem that you seem to be having with Plesk is that it is trying to access a server via it's FQDN, but either lacks it or has an improperly entered FQDN. You should be able to amend this by poking around in the connectivity options. Then find the devices FQDN via the before detailed method. Hopefully you can find someone more competent than before in the Plesk forum to help you. Also; a screen shot would be most helpful.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1