KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

15 Replies - 568 Views - Last Post: 04 June 2012 - 01:01 PM

#1 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 31 May 2012 - 02:48 PM

Ok back story time:

I work at a radio station, we want to be able to place the towers outside of the studio but maintain control through keyboard/mouse/monitor setup inside studio.

There will be two computers outside the studio, 2 monitors inside the studio and a single keyboard/mouse setup in studio to control both towers. I have done a little research and found out about KVM Switches/Extenders however i know nothing about these devices, from what i have managed to find it looks like the extender allows you to have the tower in a seperate place to the monitor/mouse/keyboard but if i was to have 2 computers i would need 2 extender setups with 2 monitors, 2 mice and 2 keyboards. The switcher looks like it will allow 2 computers to be run using a single monitor/keyboard/mouse.

basically i have no idea what i am going to need to get the result i am wanting.

TL;DR: need to be able to have 2 towers in different room run by single mouse/keyboard but 2 monitors to show what each one is doing. Do i need KVM Extender, KVM Switcher or both?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8962
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33,586
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 31 May 2012 - 03:04 PM

Yea, KVM is exactly that.. you hook only one set of video, keyboard, or mouse into N pcs and you can control them as if they were individually wired.

A useful bit when you are trying to fix/repair a pc and still maintain your ability to use your machine with out taking the parts off.

Try looking for something hard hitting. I've always had good luck with blackbox.

http://www.blackbox....ACS250A%C4%82R2
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 31 May 2012 - 03:28 PM

so is the switcher and extender different names for the same thing?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8962
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33,586
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 31 May 2012 - 05:05 PM

Typically a switch is for a lot of machines and an extender does just that - makes you able to transmit a long distance.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 01 June 2012 - 08:00 AM

so if i was to have 2 machines go to two separate monitors but with single input controls how would i manage that? its the using of a single keyboard/mouse for both machines i can't quite get my head around.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8962
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33,586
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 01 June 2012 - 08:07 AM

Monitors go in normal... the keyboard and mouse ports are taken up by the kvm.

Example:
http://www.andymatth...I:-The-Hardware

Another:

Posted Image
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817107417
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#7 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 01 June 2012 - 01:43 PM

you are being more than helpful i know i am asking stupid questions, but i've just never dealt with this before

i think what i am looking at using is a switch and an extender, extender for 1 box to 1 monitor, switch for both boxes to keyboard/mouse and monitor as primary for other box and secondary for first box.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 01 June 2012 - 01:48 PM

Any recommendations of which products would be good for a work environment?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8962
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33,586
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 01 June 2012 - 02:03 PM

Well it sort of depends.. I mean you can pick through that blackbox link and see things like KVM over TCIP.. or other cabling.

What's your setup you'll need for this again? Two machines an outdoor environment some feet away need to be hooked up to one machine back inside?

What sort of connections are the keyboards, monitors, and mice? All USB and DVI-d? All serial and vga?

Are you sure you can't do something funky like have everyone on the wifi and just remote connect to the box?
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#10 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 01 June 2012 - 02:30 PM

the studio is a soundproof room inside a room, we just want the towers outside the studio but still in the inner room. keyboards/mice all usb monitor connections will all be vga.


let's ignore this bit for now {
boss just dropped on my desk that he might want capability for 4 towers.

No idea how many monitors or even what these extra 2 towers would do, he literally dropped the paper on my desk as he left the office and said something about having it ready for presentation on Monday (not gonna happen, but ill deal with that later)
} :withstupid:

This post has been edited by TechnoBear: 01 June 2012 - 02:31 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8962
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33,586
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 01 June 2012 - 02:37 PM

Okay - then back to my side tangent about wifi and a remote VPN connection to them? Are they windows boxes?
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#12 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 04 June 2012 - 11:26 AM

one is a windows box the other will be linux, still no idea about these extra ones that he spoke about friday.

I'm trying to make everything as simple as possible as i seem to be the only one here with a technical aptitude.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8962
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33,586
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 04 June 2012 - 11:41 AM

ah..

Well then it's worth mentioning again you can remote login from a windows machine to another windows machine over ethernet.. and you can do windows to linux with the VNC viewer.. It would eliminate the need for KVN fun and just relies on regular tcp/ip and networking gear..

http://www.realvnc.c...ber/042005.html

http://www.realvnc.c...nvncviewer.html
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#14 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 04 June 2012 - 12:28 PM

thank you i think this has given me alot to work with. I really do appreciate your help
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8962
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33,586
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: KVM Switcher/KVM Extender?

Posted 04 June 2012 - 12:39 PM

No problem. At bare minimum keep me updated on how it goes... pictures would be nice too.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2