10 Replies - 1447 Views - Last Post: 12 June 2012 - 07:43 AM

Poll: Teaching using IDEs (18 member(s) have cast votes)

Do IDEs make us dumb?

1. YES! New programmers should use text editors, not IDEs. (2 votes [11.11%] - View)

Percentage of vote: 11.11%

2. IDEs have their place if used correctly. (9 votes [50.00%] - View)

Percentage of vote: 50.00%

3. NO! Teaching using an IDE is A-OK. (5 votes [27.78%] - View)

Percentage of vote: 27.78%

4. Other (2 votes [11.11%] - View)

Percentage of vote: 11.11%

Vote Guests cannot vote

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Teaching using IDEs

Posted 02 June 2012 - 07:17 PM

When I teach Java, I usually have my students download and use NetBeans. Some of my colleagues believe Integrated Development Environments like NetBeans do too much of the work and actually hinder the learning of a programming language.

I can understand the mentality. When I started learning C++, then Java, I used a text editor, because there wasn't the abundance of free tools and cheap high-speed Internet we have now. (I feel so old writing this!) At the same time, I feel it's good for students to be exposed to the sort of tools they are going to use professionally, and the RAD tools (like NetBeans Swing GUI Builder) allow students to have the satisfaction of building something fairly non-trivial in a short amount of time.

What do you think? If you're learning a new language, do you deliberately avoid IDEs?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Teaching using IDEs

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Teaching using IDEs

Posted 02 June 2012 - 07:24 PM

Just after I post this, I realize it probably belongs in Corner Cubicle. D'oh!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• "Hurry up and wait"
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 June 2012 - 07:30 PM

I'll move it for you.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 02 June 2012 - 07:56 PM