9 Replies - 5185 Views - Last Post: 05 June 2012 - 09:55 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Need Advice: Web Application Developer or Database Programmer

Posted 04 June 2012 - 05:50 PM

Hi. I recently graduated as a Math major. I only took one class in Java, which was required. A company told me they would hire me if I learned like 2 languages. The guy told me I could either be a Web Applications Developer or a Database Programmer. He told me they were looking more for Web Application Developers, but that I could also do the Database Programming. For Web Applications, he said to learn asp.net, C#, and Javascript. For Database, he said SQL and Data Import/Export.

Since I'm a beginner to Computer Science, which would you think I'd have an easier time with?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Need Advice: Web Application Developer or Database Programmer

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Need Advice: Web Application Developer or Database Programmer

Posted 04 June 2012 - 05:52 PM

That's a pretty loaded question there one-poster... No one knows a darn thing about you! How about you skim the tutorial sections on ASP.NET and MSSQL and figure out what seems more straight forward.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 04 June 2012 - 05:54 PM

View PostUSC2587, on 04 June 2012 - 06:50 PM, said:

Hi. I recently graduated as a Math major. I only took one class in Java, which was required. A company told me they would hire me if I learned like 2 languages. The guy told me I could either be a Web Applications Developer or a Database Programmer. He told me they were looking more for Web Application Developers, but that I could also do the Database Programming. For Web Applications, he said to learn asp.net, C#, and Javascript. For Database, he said SQL and Data Import/Export.

Since I'm a beginner to Computer Science, which would you think I'd have an easier time with?