Ideas for instant messenger

• (3 Pages)
  • +

32 Replies - 4698 Views - Last Post: 23 June 2012 - 12:36 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Ideas for instant messenger

Posted 09 June 2012 - 12:08 PM

I've been learning C# for about a month for my upcoming mini project and I've decided to make instant messenger. I would like to have a intermediate server and database to record details. It would be highly appreciated if I could help starting it. I'm completely new to C# and .net so I need basic ideas for construction like which class to use.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Ideas for instant messenger

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Ideas for instant messenger

Posted 09 June 2012 - 12:11 PM

We have a couple Chat tutorials. However, if you don't know where to start on this project, trust me when I say you're biting off more than you want to chew. This isn't a project you should be tackling with only one month programming experience.

http://www.dreaminco...cation-in-c%23/
http://www.dreaminco...-chat-advanced/
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 09 June 2012 - 12:16 PM

View Postmacosxnerd101, on 09 June 2012 - 12:11 PM, said:

We have a couple Chat tutorials. However, if you don't know where to start on this project, trust me when I say you're biting off more than you want to chew. This isn't a project you should be tackling with only one month programming experience.

http://www.dreaminco...cation-in-c%23/
http://www.dreaminco...-chat-advanced/

Thanks for the quick reply. Could you suggest me any topic that I could use for mini project? I've 5 months time and i know intermediate programming but just beginning c#.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Coding Dynamo
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 09 June 2012 - 12:22 PM

Wait, why would you need a database to hold details? What in IM needs to be kept?

Are you developing both the server and the client?