VB.NET and SQL Server

Need help storing/retrieving data from a database

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 1701 Views - Last Post: 22 May 2007 - 03:38 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

VB.NET and SQL Server

Posted 20 May 2007 - 03:30 PM

Hi, I am very new to VB, I downloaded VB 2005 express and picked up the for dummies book just 4 days ago. I have familiarised myself with the basics but now I want to set myself a challenge...
I am building an application which has a login/register form at the beginning. I have finished all the front end for this part of my app but I need someone to point me in the right direction to get it to function.

I want users to be able to register and provide: username, password and email address. I want these details to be written to a database. I will need my app to check the database to see if the username is already taken.
Once this is done I want the user to be able to login with the registration details he provided, read from said database.

How should I go about this? What techniques should I use?
Any help will be greatly appreciated!

EDIT: modified title to be more descriptive ~ jayman9

This post has been edited by jayman9: 22 May 2007 - 02:22 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: VB.NET and SQL Server

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: VB.NET and SQL Server

Posted 21 May 2007 - 07:48 AM

EDIT: I have managed to get as far as adding the user details to the database on the registration form but I do not know how to check whether the username already exists or not. Ideas?

I still need to do the actual login bit also... reading from the database. (I'm using SQL server 2005 (.mdf))
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 22 May 2007 - 12:28 PM

ok.... What do I need to tell you to get someone to give me some advice on this??
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Student of Life
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 22 May 2007 - 02:21 PM