7 Replies - 3099 Views - Last Post: 14 June 2012 - 01:43 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

A question from a novice programmer way out of his league

Posted 13 June 2012 - 08:17 AM

Hello DiC, I don't know if this belongs in this discussion board (if it's not, can a mod please move it?). I'm an intern programmer at an educational facility, so far my boss has had me set up some simple websites that I breezed through - yada yada yada -

My boss came out of nowhere asking if I could program an automated essay grader that we could upload onto a website for a local elementary school - meaning little kids log onto the schools website and have their essays graded - like a test. I told him I could look around for some open source ones, which I had no idea if there were any, and let him know if I came across any.

I've found one from a ph d, Elijah Mayfield, and I have no idea how to work with it.

Is there anyone that could point me in the right direction to get started - ebooks, applications, anything really? Last resort is to program the thing from scratch, but considering I'm a 2nd year CS student - I doubt that.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: A question from a novice programmer way out of his league

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: A question from a novice programmer way out of his league

Posted 13 June 2012 - 08:24 AM

Okay expand on how you want these essays graded... That's always a large problem of just keyword searching versus content generating..
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 13 June 2012 - 08:31 AM

The grader is to fit the criteria of: performing proper punctuation, fragmentation, and capitalization checks; check if the student keeps on topics, grade on a scale of 1 though 4, check for gibberish and run-on sentences, and give a quick insight to students on why they got their grade.