5 Replies - 2504 Views - Last Post: 14 June 2012 - 08:50 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Create user specific content on my website

Posted 13 June 2012 - 01:36 PM

Hi,

I'm trying to find a n00b's tutorial on how to create user specific content for users that register on my website. At least, I'd like to know where to start. The user specific content would be accessible only by the user himself (not public).

Since I want to be clear and that I am new to this, here is an exemple of what I would like to see happen:
A registered user is navigating the website and is looking at a calendar of upcomming events in a city close to him. I would want to have a button next to the event that says "Add to my calendar" (A little like adding items to a cart on an online shop). He/she could then click on (let say) "My page" and access the general template with his user specific content.

This content would have to be saved in the Database so it can be re-accessed at any time by the user.

I'd like to know what I have to do to make that happen (what software to use, what I should be looking into,...)

So far I've been told to:

-Use Java
-Use PHP
-Use MVC
-Use MySQL

But I've not been given a starting point or a process to follow.

[I don't mind putting in the hours to learn, but just being told: "you should create columns in your Database and assign..." it means nothing to me. How do I create columns? Using what? Why? How will that generate user specific content?] - As you can see, I'm quite a newbe :( but I want to learn.

Thanks.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Create user specific content on my website

• Changed Man With Different Priorities
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Create user specific content on my website

Posted 13 June 2012 - 02:33 PM