13 Replies - 10336 Views - Last Post: 13 December 2012 - 10:41 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Getting Past The Plateau - Beware, Wall of Text

Posted 14 June 2012 - 01:10 PM

Before actually asking my question, I want to tell a short story (sort of). I've been programming for a couple of years now (literally 'a couple' [2]). I've switched between languages a lot, but I've found that my favorite languages have always been C, C++, and Java. I've been a Java programmer for a little more than a year now, but I got into C++ again a few months ago. I've been learning quite a lot since I first started programming in C++ (I have more general programming experience, so I can now learn how to do it in syntax specific ways rather than learn the concepts).

I've encountered what many people might call 'The Wall,' but I call it 'The Plateau.' It's that point where you've learned just enough that to make a program, you don't need to learn anything new. I'm by no means and expert with C++, I know enough to get by, and I want to change that. This is the part where I usually bail out and try something else, but I find that I really want to learn C++, even more than I had learned Java.

Now after that giant story, here comes the real question: Where can I learn 'advanced' C++. All tutorials I find seem to end at OO design. They never get into anything 'interesting' if you will.

Does anyone have a personal favorite, or just something that looks good?

Thank you (especially for reading all of that text!)
~Crockeo

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Getting Past The Plateau - Beware, Wall of Text

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Getting Past The Plateau - Beware, Wall of Text

Posted 14 June 2012 - 01:44 PM

What's not interesting about them?

Have you poked through amazon under "advanced c++"?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• It's a 16-Bit World!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 June 2012 - 02:32 PM