6 Replies - 812 Views - Last Post: 25 July 2012 - 08:51 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Creating a game.

Posted 16 June 2012 - 04:58 AM

I wasn't sure where to put this, so I shall place it in this forum, I hope you don't mind :3

Well I've been learning C# & XNA for about 2 years now and I've decided that I don't like how I'm restricted to Windows and Xbox only.
I was wondering if anybody could suggest some good ways to get started on created games.
Like a nice programming language and environment.

I feel pretty confident in my programming skills to be able to learn new stuff.

I've been wanted to make some Client/Server games for a while but I've been unsure on where to start?

Thanks!!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Creating a game.

• Caffeine: db "Never Enough!"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Creating a game.

Posted 16 June 2012 - 06:30 AM

Just let me clarify:

Well I've been learning C# & XNA for about 2 years now and I've decided that I don't like how I'm restricted to Windows and Xbox only.

So you are looking for a cross platform solution?

If so then a cross platform solution would be the use of OpenGL but standard OpenGL is restricted to the C/C++ programming languages. There has been a port of the OpenGL library to C# called OpenTK which I have heard is a good port that is a wrapper for OpenGL, OpenAL and OpenCL.

In terms of network programming with C#, you may find this paper helpful.

Finally I assume this will be your first networked game. The goal is to start small, I suggest perhaps aim to do a pong clone that you can play over the internet. It sounds boring but it will demonstrate what you need to write bigger and better games. If you are confused by the logic behind a client/server setup; This book is really good (I found so at-least) or you can look for a shorter tutorial online :)

I hope this helps!
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 16 June 2012 - 06:34 AM