9 Replies - 730 Views - Last Post: 27 June 2012 - 08:39 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What Development Engine Should I Use

Posted 18 June 2012 - 11:44 PM

Hello. My name is Nathan Cash and I am 14 years old. I have been programming for several years and so far I know HTML, CSS, GML, and a little bit of Javascript. My current project is being made in Game Maker and is turning out very well. For my next game I would like to use a more powerful engine. What is the best game engine to use? What is the best language for a 14 year old coming out of GML? Your help would be greatly appreciated.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What Development Engine Should I Use

• Caffeine: db "Never Enough!"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What Development Engine Should I Use

Posted 19 June 2012 - 03:33 AM

If you are interested in learning how to program games at a lower level than Game Maker Language. I think you should perhaps give C# and XNA a go or Python and PyGame a go (the former is a lot more powerful). Just an idea :)

This post has been edited by v0rtex: 19 June 2012 - 01:14 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Here to help.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 19 June 2012 - 11:34 AM

C# and XNA probably would be a good choice for you. You would have to learn C# first, but there are quite a few books out there on C#. You can get C# for free from Microsoft's website. The books, of course, will cost you but maybe you can find a book in the school library or something.

http://www.microsoft...-csharp-express

XNA is a seperate download for C#. You have to install C# and then install XNA.

You can make games using just C#, but XNA allows you to do a lot more with your graphics than C# alone does. XNA also supports input from an XBox game controller on your PC and probably supports sound a lot better than C# alone does.

http://www.microsoft...s.aspx?id=23714