2 Replies - 985 Views - Last Post: 20 June 2012 - 01:57 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Resume Padding/Job Finding Help

Posted 20 June 2012 - 01:41 PM

Hey guys, apologies if this is in the wrong place but I couldn't figure out where to put it...

Anyway I'm a CS student on my summer break with about 2 months left before I go into my final year, and I'm trying to stay productive over the summer and actually do things that are going to get me hired when I graduate in May. Basically, all of my work experience has either been working as a DJ or doing some sort of retail work, and I don't think that's going to cut it for getting hired out of college. I made my best effort at applying for pretty much every internship I could find in my area including a few out of the area, and it didn't pan out, so now I'm looking into alternatives of what I can constructively do to increase my chances of being employed.

I am not sure what I should really do, either to attempt to find a project I can work on or even just a job that would likely look good. I've spent the last couple days applying for IT and tech support jobs, but my struggle with those is that I will be going to school Monday-Thursday between 9 AM and 4 PM, which is kind of peak hours for that kind of job. I'm not even sure if a PC tech or call center job would even help much in finding a programming job as experience on my resume. So my next idea is just to try to find an open source project or something that needs worked on I can do, but I don't even know where to begin there. As far as languages go I know mainly C and Java with a bit of HTML/CSS/JS, some SQL stuff and a bit of C++, Python and Objective-C. I've considered just picking up maybe PHP or more SQL, but I always run into the problem of finding my own project I actually want to do.