2 Replies - 830 Views - Last Post: 29 June 2012 - 07:26 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

becoming a technical writer

Posted 26 June 2012 - 08:23 PM

Hello
Please bear in mind that I am in Australia. So US colleges and experiences are not things that I can relate to.

Anyway, I want to work as a technical writer, specializing in writing things for software. I know that this is a bit unusual. I have watched some videos of a professional technical writer [Lara Brindley] describing her job as a technical writer for Redhat. I liked what I saw. I spend all my spare time playing with new software. I will have a go with absolutely anything. I have endless curiosity for any software. Servers. Databases. Browsers. Email programs. I have tried more software than most people have had dinners.

Thus I am studying a mix of graphics design and web programming and python. I am also learning other things such as LaTeX. I would like at some point to find a software project and do some technical writing for them. I have looked at Freshmeat and haven't found any suitable opensource project yet.

I like computers. But I missed the whole computer boat in a hopeless pre-internet era. I wish that someone had told me about technical writing as a career. I don't think that I could make a developer; it's too late at my age [37] and I've never studied computer science or code optimisation. But I think that I can be a good technical writer. One beautiful aspect of my graphics course is that its assignments are open-ended. Thus I can do some assignments with technical writing.

So, what do coders think of all this? I've been around some developers who think that documentation is a foul plague sent from hell to waste their time and drive them mad. You even mention anything to do with reading and writing to them and they don't want to talk about it. That may be due to low levels of alphabetical literacy.

I like the shirt that Lara Brindley wears - "will write for chocolate". :)