batch files at logoff

Creating a .bat file to 'save as html', open with Excl, save f

Page 1 of 1

2 Replies - 3065 Views - Last Post: 28 May 2007 - 10:22 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

batch files at logoff

Posted 27 May 2007 - 04:10 AM

I am a complete beginner to batch files altough I have a little knowledge of Visual Basic. Having successfully used AutoIT, which is a GUI based program to achieve what I have set out below, I have found it will not work 24/7 because of Novell autlogoff - I cannot get this disabled for security reasons.

I want to be able to write a .bat file to work when the computer is logged off via Novell security to:

open a real time database program called 'Pulse'
save this as an html file
open this file with Excel
save the Excel file every hour between 0900 until 22:00 Monday through Sunday.

Assuming the program was in C:\programs as 'Pulse.exe and the destination path was Y:\reports\Mon etc

How would I save the file there as '0900Mon'?

Many thanks.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: batch files at logoff

• Can grep dead trees!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: batch files at logoff

Posted 27 May 2007 - 02:07 PM

It sounds as though you will want to use a scripting language like VBS or JS rather than a Batch program. The reasons I say this are:
* unless Pulse.exe has a command line option for "Save as HTML" you will need to use "Sendkeys" or Automation to have the program save as HTML.
* IT is not easy to get a batch file to run "every hour..." (though I suppose you could use a task scheduler.

There is something curious... "when the computer is logged off..." "...save the Excel file every hour..." This is a little curious. You want the process to start at a logoff, and then continue to run until someone logs back on?