VIRGIN PROGRAMMER

I am brand new at this- I want to learn and need lots of help

Page 1 of 1

2 Replies - 1728 Views - Last Post: 27 May 2007 - 10:46 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

VIRGIN PROGRAMMER

Post icon  Posted 27 May 2007 - 06:11 PM

I am brand new at this programming stuff- I want to learn C++ and I need lots of help. Please help me get started. I don't even know what it means to write my code like this [code]. I am a lost cause but I am thirsty to learn.

This post has been edited by bipolar_rebel: 27 May 2007 - 06:13 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: VIRGIN PROGRAMMER

• Can grep dead trees!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: VIRGIN PROGRAMMER

Posted 27 May 2007 - 06:47 PM

Well, the code tags are used like this:

if you were to type out:

[code]
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
cout << "Hello World";
return 0;
}

[/code]

it would generate a little box in your post that looked like:
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	cout << "Hello World";
	return 0;
}

This is nice because the code box preserves formating, uses a monospaced font, and does not become smilies or other BBCode elements.

As for programming in C/C++ well first you need to get a compiler. There are a lot of them out there. I use Borland 5.5 (which is free in command line version), Microsoft vissual C++ 6 and 2003, and GNU C++. There are many others, some are free some are not. I myself have not really found that I like a particular one over anyother but there are technical differances between them.