2 Replies - 408 Views - Last Post: 02 July 2012 - 08:01 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Looking for open-source game with really efficient 3D graphics

Posted 01 July 2012 - 06:44 AM

Hi,

For a simulation I want to do I'm looking for some open-source code I can use for the "world" it's running in.

Basically, I want to have a 3D world with a number of simulated "players" in it.
I plan to give each of those "players", as an input, a view of the 3D world from their respective positions. All "players" are supposed to be simultaneously calculated on one PC and do a bunch of other stuff too, that means: I need some REALLY efficient 3D graphics to provide them their view.

It doesn't matter if the graphics look crappy, but I'd still want them to be some sort of 3D.
At the moment, I'm thinking some voxel approach would be best, but I have no experience at all about how much rendering time these need.

Do you have any idea what I could use for this?

Thanks a lot,
Ciao,
Gio

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Looking for open-source game with really efficient 3D graphics

#2 BBeck  Icon User is online

• Here to help.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Looking for open-source game with really efficient 3D graphics

Posted 01 July 2012 - 09:27 AM

Well, it really depends on what you're trying to do. You mentioned voxels; so the first question that comes to my mind is "Can you do it in MineCraft"? If so, that may be the best way to go.

Another possibility is SecondLife. If you're just wanting to do sort of a 3D chat sort of thing where people come together to talk and socialize, SecondLife might be a really good option. SecondLife allows you to script a lot of things to make it work the way you want it to work.

I'm kind of progressing from easiest solution to the most complex.