6 Replies - 3872 Views - Last Post: 14 July 2012 - 11:25 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

UML Help

Posted 01 July 2012 - 07:10 PM

Hi everybody

I'm new at software architecture and I need some help. I'm studying OOP and UML and I'm a bit confused. Once I have all the requirements for a project. How do I start modeling? I mean, which diagram goes first and how is the workflow generally?

Thanks for your help!!

Regards.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: UML Help

#2 Skydiver  Icon User is online

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: UML Help

Posted 02 July 2012 - 08:00 AM

Different people have different thinking styles.

Personally, I start with use cases to make sure that I didn't miss any requirements, and then work my way into state diagrams, then the class diagrams, and finally the component and deployment diagrams.

Others start with class diagrams or component diagrams first to partition their N-tier architectures early (and subdivide the work to sub-teams).

My best advice is irregardless which diagram you start with, start high level first, and then on succeeding iterations do more an more details as you go down the levels. This way, if your project gets rushed, you have a general roadmap. (At least for me,) it's easy to get sucked into the minutae if I start with low level diagrams and work my way up to the higher levels.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 02 July 2012 - 08:51 AM

View PostSkydiver, on 02 July 2012 - 08:00 AM, said:

Different people have different thinking styles.

Personally, I start with use cases to make sure that I didn't miss any requirements, and then work my way into state diagrams, then the class diagrams, and finally the component and deployment diagrams.

Others start with class diagrams or component diagrams first to partition their N-tier architectures early (and subdivide the work to sub-teams).