2 Replies - 380 Views - Last Post: 05 July 2012 - 04:41 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

AD Analyst looking to Learn C#: Specializing in GIS

Posted 04 July 2012 - 05:42 PM

Hey Guys,

I want to start out by thanking you for taking any amount of time to potentially help me out. I read through some resent posts that are similar to mine but I need specifics.

I have been in IT my whole life. I am only 25. My schooling background is in computer networks and I have been an active directory technician for just about 5 years.

When I was younger I tabbled into programming, Just real basic stuff and used to build pages using HTML basics until Angelfire and Homestead came out and were the craze.

I have a great desire to switch up my careers, even to just learn programming to do some on the side for now. I feel like with programming you can be alot more creative, that's what I love to do.

I started looking into Interactive learning sites online, found Code Academy and began to learn Javascript, Realizing after looking at your reference sheets that the coding they teach is the same as the coding in C#. Is that correct? I think I am missing the concept and thinking all of these different naming conventions are more separate than they really are. I love their website because it is very organized and the flow is excellent.

Not to bash this site or anything, the tutorials look great. I just find if it is not organized its hard for me to keep on track. And I am really motivated to move along here.
If learning Javascript is not the same coding as c#, could someone please:
A. Fill in my ignorance of the difference
B. Suggest another similar site that teaches c# in the same way

Also, I was told I should specialize in something when programming. I am thinking GIS would be best as there is lots of government and oilfield work available in my area for it. What do I need to study/master for this?
From what I understand, C#, .NET and JQuery...? Sound right?