6 Replies - 1060 Views - Last Post: 07 July 2012 - 07:55 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Introduction

Posted 05 July 2012 - 01:00 AM

Hello,
I'm Tech2012 and I am new to these forums. I am a longtime C++ and Java programmer and a major technology enthusiast, but I am new to x86 assembly. I've been using the Art of Assembly book to teach myself assembly. Overall, I'm definitely enjoying learning a language that is much different than the lacking-in-variety high level languages. I have a few questions. One, I am learning how to write in Assembly using the Art of Assembly book (like I've said before), and I'm wondering if its age might mean I should try some other tutorials for learning assembly. Two, I am learning x86 assembly on an AMD64 processor instead of an Intel x86-64 processor. Would that change a lot for me in learning assembly, or are there very few differences between the two architectures (programming wise).
Thank you for welcoming me into the forums and I look forward to having more conversations soon!
Tech2012

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Introduction

• member icon

• View blog

Re: Introduction

Posted 05 July 2012 - 06:04 AM

Hey, welcome :)

Wrong forum by the way: Introduce Yourself :P
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 05 July 2012 - 06:16 AM

Oops! I'll go post it there.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• "Hurry up and wait"
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 05 July 2012 - 03:36 PM

One, I am learning how to write in Assembly using the Art of Assembly book (like I've said before), and I'm wondering if its age might mean I should try some other tutorials for learning assembly.

No, your fine with it. Randy actually goes in depth very well about the inner workings of the processor, memory, strings, etc... It is a good foundation to learn from. Once you get your "feet wet", go right ahead and look at other tutorials.