14 Replies - 3636 Views - Last Post: 18 July 2012 - 01:03 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Programming Practice

Posted 05 July 2012 - 01:17 PM

Hello

Not sure if im posting this topic in the right place or not.
Anyway i have a question, im still learning Java but have had very little experience with the actual progamming as most of the stuff is just in text form in books.

Given the circumstances how would i go abouts starting practicing programming while im still studying? so once ive completed my exam and get a job i wont be totaly incompetent when im asked to write a simple program in an interview.

Any help to point me in the right direction would be great!

Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Programming Practice

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Programming Practice

Posted 05 July 2012 - 01:18 PM

The obvious answer is to actual practice programming by writing programs.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• using Caffeine;
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 05 July 2012 - 01:20 PM

Start making your way through Martyr2's Mega Project Ideas List. Trying to make the projects there will definitely sharpen your skills as a programmer.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 05 July 2012 - 01:24 PM

Also I would say don't go for loads of really small programs. Try and find something that you can continually expand on - adding new features etc - working on a large project will get you more valuable experience than working on 5 Tic Tac Toe programs.

That being said, don't go over your ability. I may say try making something big, but don't take that to mean the next Photoshop or a fully fledged 3D game. Think about your current knowledge and try a project that you believe you can make a good start on. As you get better, come back and improve and add new features.

Good luck.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -