11 Replies - 7316 Views - Last Post: 12 July 2012 - 06:49 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

how to fix this unsupported operand type for *: function and float

Post icon  Posted 08 July 2012 - 07:15 AM

I made this calculator where you enter the cost of five items. It adds up the subtotal, and it asks, 'Enter the amount of tax.' I enter in .06 for 6 percent. Next I want to get the tax total for the items. When I run the program I keep getting this error , "unsupported operand type(s) for *: 'function' and 'float" I don't understand why I can't multiply the subtotal by the tax in the def tax_total(subtotal,tax): section. I tried a search online and nothing seems to work. Can someone please try to explain to me how to fix this, I would really appreciate it, I'm new to python and just trying to learn something new for my own enjoyment. Thanks for helping.
def main():
    item_one = input('Enter the cost of item one: ')
    item_two = input('Enter the cost of item two: ')
    item_three = input('Enter the cost of item three: ')
    item_four = input('Enter the cost of item four: ')
    item_five = input('Enter the cost of item five: ')
    subtotal(item_one,item_two,item_three,item_four,item_five)
    tax = input('Enter the amount of tax for the five items: ')
    tax_total(subtotal,tax)

def subtotal(item_one,item_two,item_three,item_four,item_five):
    subtotal = item_one + item_two + item_three + item_four + item_five
    print 'The subtotal is ' ,subtotal , 'dollars '

def tax_total(subtotal,tax):
    tax_total = subtotal * tax
    print 'The tax total is ' , subtotal

main()

This post has been edited by atraub: 12 July 2012 - 06:30 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: how to fix this unsupported operand type for *: function and float

• Saucy!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: how to fix this unsupported operand type for *: function and float

Posted 08 July 2012 - 07:20 AM