2 Replies - 3269 Views - Last Post: 09 July 2012 - 07:01 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Building text based RPG, question about keeping the source neat.

Posted 08 July 2012 - 09:31 PM

Well I'm taking my first shot at a simple text based RPG. I'm not looking for anything fancy just going to use it as a simple exercise. I've been self taught java and some of it has been very broken up. I want to get more organized with my coding. I'm going to list what I believe I need to build this game and I'm asking if the members of this community will help tell me what I did wrong and what I could do to help keep it organized.

Basically the game is going to start off as a simple character with a name, health, and maybe a couple other attributes. There is going to be a story line, may start simple and expand later, that the player can progress through. I would like to be able to save the character file and load it later. Depending on how far I take the development of this game I may add a bigger map. Also depending on how far I take it I plan to add combat maybe with magic.

So this is what I think I'm going to need. Feel free to tell me where I'm wrong and it would be greatly appreciated if you could kindly correct me.
  • Character Class
  • Storyline Class (maybe)
  • Save Class (for specifically saving the attributes and progression of the character into a file)
  • Map Class (If I expand the map)
  • Combat Class or Magic Class
  • Main Class that pulls everything together

Ok so if anyone finds something I'm missing or corrections please let me know. I'm not asking how to build it, I just kind of want to lay an outline before I begin to code the game. My hope is if I can build a neat code several times it will become a habit.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Building text based RPG, question about keeping the source neat.

• </luck>
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Building text based RPG, question about keeping the source neat.